#ThePewPointOfView After nearly 25 years of teaching and preaching the Word, I’ve “heard” πŸ˜› that people are ok with audience participation but say, “If I have to” excessively:

“Find three people” (11 times in one sermon) and tell them __________,

Turn to my neighbor (21 times in one sermon) and tell them _________, 

Be “made” to get up on my feet and get out of my seat (2 times in 11 minutes after a 12-hour shift), πŸƒπŸΎ

Be shamed into shouting (cause I’m not showing emotion – You know, holding back the tears from the devastation in my life), 

Move from my “won’t praise ’em” neighbor’s row (cause they’re too tired from work or worry to shout) – so now my row ain’t blessedπŸ€¦πŸ½β€β™€οΈ, 

Wonder if there’s a point or purpose after listening 30-45 minutes πŸ€·πŸΎβ€β™‚οΈ

Grab somebody, or high five 52 people, or be touched (17 times in 12 minutes, while you stay sanitized 😷 and refuse to meet and greet), then…

Then… you probably just preached your first and last sermon to a lot of people. 

Iiiiiiiii TOO engage the audience (cause we all need a lil stirring πŸ™‹πŸ½) and sometimes have to remember not to overdo it. But it should be voluntary, not condemning, and not a workout session. Mindful preaching values people and the fact they chose to take time to listen. 

Too many “fillers”, is an indication that we may be trying to get people to “feel” something instead of being “filled”. Nervousness can be natural, breathe and remember that HE is ready! 

Sermons should be scripture fed and Spirit led. When God breathes on a sermon from the #study of scripture, we don’t have to prop and script the people. The Word will work the atmosphere. 

#SensationalSermonsAreInsufficient #LetsWorkTheWord #Theopneustos, 2Ti3:16

